Short and Lynn manage the Strikers to achieve the highest successful BBL chase in history.

Big Bash League News

Matthew Short played his captaincy debut for Adelaide Strikers in a T20 match and scored a heroic, maiden ton to help the team chase down the opposing team’s score.

After Hurricanes posted a score of 229 for 4, Short crunched Pakistan allrounder Faheem Ashraf for back-to-back boundaries in the 20th over to raise his century and win the game by seven wickets.

Short celebrated his temporary promotion to captaincy by hitting 100 not out off 59 balls.

Scratchy early, Short received two lives off Riley Meredith’s bowling – one dropped by Mitchell Owen on the first ball and another by Nathan Ellis on the 22nd. He made Hurricanes pay for it by getting the batsman out later in the game.

Short and Chris Lynn added 124 off 58 balls to turn the dream of the Strikers into a reality after Ryan Gibson had earlier left the game.

Lynn smashed four sixes in his whirlwind 29-ball knock before falling to the impressive spinner Patrick Dooley during the power surge.

On 20, Adam Hose hit a fly ball to Tim David at mid-on, but was ruled out because Eloise Sheridan ruled that Faheem’s full toss was above waist height.

Hose belted a free hit for six, and then hit another free hit later in the over. Faheem was struggling, and the next over saw another free hit being given away, which allowed Short to take advantage.

Dooley injured his left shoulder while diving to save a boundary in the 19th over, and this added to the pain for the Hurricanes, who were in an impregnable position at the halfway mark.

The Hurricanes’ 67-point scoring performance was helped by the fact that Ben McDermott (57), Caleb Jewell (54) and Zak Crawley (54) all played over 50 games in the 2017-18 season.

The team smoked 14 sixes in their inning and looked like they were on track to win two games in five days against the Strikers, while also beating the home team for the fourth time in a row.


Matthew “Matt” William Short  is a cricket player who made his debut for Victoria in 2014. He made his first-class debut for Cricket Australia XI in October 2015 and scored his maiden first-class century later that month playing against England. Matt also plays for the Melbourne Renegades in the Big Bash League.

Jacob scored 95 against Lakenheath in the Division 1 of the Marshall Hatchick Two Counties Cricket Championship for Coggeshall Town Cricket Club. His younger brother Sam plays for Melbourne United in the National Basketball League (NBL).

Christopher Austin Lynn  was born on April 10, 1990 in Brisbane, Queensland. He is a right-handed batsman and plays for Queensland in Australian domestic cricket. Christopher is known for his ability to hit big sixes.

The duo added 124 to go past Hurricanes’ highest T20 total


Big Bash League History

The Big Bash League is a professional club Twenty20 cricket league in Australia. It was established in 2011 and replaced the previous competition, the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash. The Big Bash League features eight city-based franchises instead of the six state teams which had participated previously. The competition has been sponsored by fast food-chicken outlet KFC since its inception. The winner of the Big Bash League in 2021 and 2022 was the Perth Scorchers.

The BBL is a professional basketball league in Australia that operates in the summer, in December, January, and February.

Six teams have won the title at least once in the history of the Big Bash League, with the Perth Scorchers being the most successful. The Sydney Sixers have won the title three times, including consecutively for two years. The other four teams are the Adelaide Strikers, Melbourne Renegades, Brisbane Heat, and Sydney Thunder.

Previously, the top two teams in the Champions League Twenty20 tournament qualified for the annual international Twenty20 competition. However, after the tournament ended in 2014, it was discontinued.